skip to Main Content

About the Judicial Fact Sheets

NCFREE profiled 16 statewide judicial candidates running in the North Carolina Supreme Court and the North Carolina Court of Appeals in the 2020 election cycle.

  • Chief Justice: Chief Justice Cheri Beasley (D) and Justice Paul Newby (R)
  • Supreme Court Seat 2: Judge Lucy Inman (D) and Judge Phil Berger, Jr. (R)
  • Supreme Court Seat 4: Justice Mark Davis (D) and Tamara Barringer (R)
  • Court of Appeals Seat 4: Tricia Shields (D) and Judge April Wood (R)
  • Court of Appeals Seat 5: Judge Lora Cubbage (D) and Judge Fred Gore (R)
  • Court of Appeals Seat 6: Gray Styers (D) and Judge Chris Dillon (R)
  • Court of Appeals Seat 7: Judge Reuben Young (D) and Judge Jeff Carpenter (R)
  • Court of Appeals Seat 13: Judge Chris Brook (D) and Judge Jefferson Griffin (R)



Your contribution to NCFREE makes possible informative reports and innovative programs that foster informed civic involvement and a better understanding of the free enterprise economy.

Back To Top